AGCF logo

Assoc Prof. Margaret Davy

Assoc Prof. Margaret DavyAssociate Professor Margaret Davy, AM MBBS FRANZCOG CGO, is Clinical Director Surgical Specialties, Royal Adelaide Hospital.

She is a graduate of the University of Adelaide. After training in obstetrics and gynaecology in Adelaide, she went to the Norwegian Radium Hospital, in Oslo, in 1973, initially for 4 months, to gain experience in treating women with gynaecological cancer. A decade later, after she had been the Assistant Director of Gynaecological Cancer in Oslo, she returned to Adelaide to direct gynaecological cancer services at the Royal Adelaide and Queen Elizabeth Hospitals in 1983. She stepped down as Director of Gynaecological Oncology in 2009.

She was a foundation member of the two ground breaking societies with this sub specialty. The International Society of Gynaecologic Cancer commenced 1985 and Australian Society of Gynaecological Oncologists 1986.

Clinically for 20 years, she was responsible for the provision of medical care for women suffering from gynaecological cancer from South Australia and Northern territory, with outreach to Broken Hill and Mildura, both in the Public and Private sectors. Her research strengths have been in collaboration with basic science and leadership in clinical trials.

During this time, she has been involved in state, national and international committees promoting women’s health by leading opinion, by developing guidelines to influence government decision making. She enjoys every opportunity to educate both the profession and the public about health issues. Highlights of her career include:

  • National Cervix Screening Program Executive Committee’s Guidelines for Management of Abnormal Smears, both the initial and revised guidelines.
  • Chair Guidelines for Management of Ovarian Cancer.
  • Executive positions in Australian Society of Gynaecological Oncologists and Clinical Oncological Society of Australia.
  • Membership of various NHMRC committees including Strategic Research and Development Committee, Program and Project Grant Committee
  • Memberships Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists Oncology Committee and Examination Board

In 2000, she received the AMA’s Women’s Health Award, and in 2002, she was given the Order of Australia (AM) for services to Women’s Health.